It is against the law to operate a vehicle without car insurance in SC. By law, every driver who registers their vehicle must carry a liability insurance policy that includes state-mandatory amounts. Drivers who fail to comply with the state-required auto insurance laws are committing a crime and are subject to a rash of penalties such as the suspension of their driving privileges and vehicle registration, increased auto insurance costs, and a slew of additional consequences. Additionally, driving an automobile without auto insurance puts a ton of risk on the driver’s shoulders. In the event of an at-fault accident, the costs of damages and injuries fall on your shoulders if you are driving without coverage at the time of the accident. Drivers who are involved in auto crashes without the proper amounts of state required insurance are setting themselves up for financial devastation and potential lawsuits.
Learn the state-required insurance amounts and make sure you never violate the laws and face the troubles that come from such an act!
State-Required Auto Insurance
South Carolina is an at-fault state, meaning the driver responsible for the accident must pay all of the damages related to that accident. To abide by the state’s financial responsibility laws, drivers must carry a liability policy consisting of $25,000 in Bodily Injury coverage for one injured party, with a cap of $50,000 for all injuries; $25,000 for property damage; and $25,000 in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This is referred to as a 25/50/25 policy.
To maintain legal status in South Carolina, an insurance policy containing the above amounts must be carried on your registered vehicle at all times. Since these amounts are relatively low when compared to the average costs of an accident, drivers may opt to purchase higher amounts of coverage should they desire. Additionally, optional insurance coverage is also available.
Optional South Carolina Auto Insurance
Collision coverage provides payment for your damages after an accident involving another vehicle. Liability insurance pays only for the damages to the other party involved in the accident after an at-fault accident, leaving drivers to cover the costs of their damages and injuries. When collision coverage is in place, that worry is eliminated, and financial assistance is there to help cover the costs of your damages, up to the policy amount, of course.
Comprehensive coverage is a secondary type of coverage available to South Carolina drivers. Usually sold together with collision coverage, comprehensive coverage pays for damages with something besides a vehicle, whether it is a tree, a falling rock, or vehicle burglary or vandalism. Thousands of people across the state experience firsthand the hardships of such an act. This coverage offers peace of mind in an uncertain world.
Although optional for most drivers, people who lease or finance a new car from the dealership may be required to carry this coverage as a part of their financing deal. The coverage is usually referred to as a full-coverage insurance policy. For other drivers, it is coverage that can certainly provide considerable benefit. Do keep in mind that adding collision and comprehensive coverage increases the costs of your policy.